The Gentle Good Wins Welsh Music Prize 2017

The Gentle Good has been announced as the winner of the Welsh Music Prize 2017 for their fourth album Ruins/Adfeilion.

The Gentle Good, stage name of Gareth Bonello, a singer-songwriter and folk musician from Cardiff was awarded the prestigious award during a ceremony at Milk&Sugar at the Old Library, Cardiff on Friday night October 20.

The album Ruins/Adfeilion, released on Cardiff label Bubblewrap Records won against eleven albums demonstrating the scope of music being produced by artists from Wales – from alternative Welsh folk to ambient techno, doom metal to R&B.

The full Welsh Music Award 2017 shortlist: 

  • Baby Queens – Baby Queens (Strangetown) 
  • Bendith – Bendith (Agati Records)
  • Cotton Wolf- Life In Analogue (Bubblewrap)
  • The Gentle Good – Ruins / Adfeilion (Bubblewrap) 
  • Georgia Ruth – Fossil Scale (Navigator Records) 
  • Gruff Rhys – Set Fire to the Stars (Finders Keepers) 
  • H Hawkline – I Romanticize (Heavenly Recordings) 
  • HMS Morris – Interior Design (Waco Gwenci) 
  • Kelly Lee Owens – Kelly Lee Owens (Smalltown Supersound) 
  • Mammoth Weed Wizard Bastard – Y Proffwyd Dwyll (New Heavy Sounds) 
  • Sweet Baboo – Wild Imagination (Moshi Moshi Records) 
  • Toby Hay – The Gathering (Cambrian Records) 

The judges panel was made up of twelve music industry experts, including Kelly Kiley (Rough Trade Records), Will Hodgkinson (Chief rock and pop critics, the Times), Jude Rogers (writer and critic), Elan Evans (DJ), Gethin Griffiths (Editor, Son Am Sin blog), Romesh Dodangoda (producer and mixer), Nici Beech (Galeri Caernarfon Artistic Director), Sam Lewis (Editor, Let it Happen blog) and Sophie Smith (Outpost Coffee).

Welsh Music Prize, sponsored by PRS, PPL, Stereoboard and Tiny Rebel is now in its seventh year, after its creation in 2011 by BBC Radio 1 DJ, Huw Stephens and music promoter, John Rostron.

In winning this year’s award The Gentle Good has joined a who’s who list of Welsh musicians including Gruff Rhys (2011), Future of the Left (2012), Georgia Ruth (2013), Joanna Gruesome (2014), Gwenno (2015) and Meilyr Jones (2016). 

Huw Stephens, said: “The shortlist this year was particularly strong. We are very proud of these great albums being made by Welsh musicians, released on thriving independent labels. Celebrating and promoting them is very important.

“After much deliberation, the judges decided on The Gentle Good’s album, a stunning record that has reached a worldwide audience on an independent Cardiff label. Congratulations Gareth on the win!”

  • For more information about the Welsh Music Prize go visit or follow @welshmusicprize