Where To Apply For Free BBC Comedy Awards Wales & West Heat Audience Tickets

BBC New Comedy Awards 2022 are looking for comedy fans to be in the audience for the TV recordings of the six regional heats which will be transmitted on BBC Three this autumn. The Wales & West heat will be held on 12th September at The Corn Exchange, Exeter.  To apply for free tickets, visit exetercornexchange.co.uk/whats-on/bbc-new-comedy-awards-2022/

Over a thousand stand-ups entered this year’s awards and these have now been whittled down to 30 comics who will battle it out in the regional heats. The Wales & West heat will be hosted by, Jayde Adams (Star of BBC Two’s BAFTA winning Alma’s Not Normal and just announced in the 2022 line-up of BBC One’s Strictly Come Dancing); and all the acts will be judged by a panel led by Head Judge Fern Brady, along with fellow comedians Laura Symth and Leroy Brito.

Audiences at the recordings will be treated to routines from five cutting-edge comics who will battle it out for a place in the Grand Final which will be broadcast on BBC One, in the BBC’s biggest ever comedy talent search to find the new stand-up stars of the future.

The prestigious New Comedy Awards, first established in 1995, have helped to launch and build the careers of some of Britain’s most loved comedians including Peter Kay, Lee Mack, Nina Conti, Russell Howard, Sindhu Vee, Alan Carr, Sarah Millican, Romesh Ranganathan, Josie Long and Joe Lycett to name just a few.

Get free tickets for the Wales & West Heat of The BBC Comedy Awards hosted by Jayde Adams

Jayde Adams said: “As a born and bred Bristolian who lived in Wales for nearly 10 years during her Uni years, this is the most ideal gig for me! I can’t wait to host the Wales and West heat of the BBC New Comedy Awards. I’ve always known that stars are born in either the Westcountry or Wales so I’m all about this particular BBC New Comedy heat, don’t tell the others but it’s going to be the best one. And I’ve heard a saucy little rumour that the audience will get to see it for free? Come on you lot, apply for your tickets and let’s get this show on the road to Exeter! Yes babes”

Exeter Corn Exchange has played host most of the UK’s top comics, and this year is celebrating the 25th anniversary of Exeter Comedy Club, so the venue is delighted to be marking this by hosting this prestigious event.

The winner of the BBC New Comedian Award will receive a paid commission to write and perform in a 30-minute audio pilot under the mentorship of a BBC Comedy Commissioner, plus a trophy and £1,000 cash.

The BBC New Comedy Award heats (6×30) and The BBC Comedy Awards Final (1×45) are a Phil McIntyre Television production, commissioned for the BBC by Jon Petrie, Director of Comedy Commissioning.  The producer for Phil McIntyre Television is Lindsay Jex and the Executive Producer is Lucy Ansbro. The Commissioning Editors for the BBC are Ben Caudell and Navi Lamba.

Leave a Reply